Free Speech Vs. Copyright

Lately, I’ve become more aware of copyright issues. People are entitled to make a profit from what they produce and should have control over how their creations are used and modified. Also, people should always reference what you use. At the same time I must take issue with copyright laws and technicalities. If some image, video clip or online link helps me articulate a point then I should morally be able to use that image it’s for academic or non-commercial use. Not being allowed to do so (under such circumstances) would be a violation of free speech which is a fundamental human right. I strongly feel that free speech should overrule any copy right laws should the two issues conflict with one another. What do you think?

About DTdriven

The name’s Dave Tierney and my background's in Psychology, English Literature, Technical Communication and E-Learning. I love to read and write and am always interested in trying new things. If I’m not having fun with Photoshop, my spare time usually involves things like Parkour, Krav Maga or swimming.
This entry was posted in Education, Human Rights, Technical Communication and E-Learning, Typography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment